Faculty and Staff News

SLP Faculty Member Accepted into Leadership Academy

Congratulations to Speech-Language Institute clinical director, and Salus SLP instructor, Robert Serianni, who has been accepted into the 2015 Council of Academic Programs in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CAPCSD) Leadership Academy to be held in April in Newport Beach, CA. He was selected among 75 applicants to be one of 19 participants.

CAPCSD is dedicated to promoting academic excellence, visionary leadership and collaboration among communication sciences and disorders academic programs.

The inaugural 2015 CAPCSD Leadership Academy, “Best Practices in Academic Leadership,” will be held April 14-15, 2015 at the Newport Beach (CA) Marriott. The Academy will be led by Dr. Jeffrey Buller, Dean of Florida Atlantic University’s Wilkes Honors College. Topics to be covered include foundations of leadership; time management; stress management; collegiality and team building; best practices in faculty evaluation, mentoring, and coaching; leading change; and goal setting/planning for the future.

For more information about CAPCSD

Faculty Members Honored at Faculty Social

On Friday, February 20th, faculty were recognized for their service to the University and their scholarly achievements for 2014. The social was held in the Bennett Lounge in the Hafter Community Center.

The following faculty were presented with certificates in honor of their promotions to full professor: Audrey J. Smith, PhD; Elise B. Ciner, OD; Connie Chronister, OD; and Charles M. Wormington, PhD,OD, FAAO (pictured below from left to right with President Michael H. Mittelman, OD, MPH.


Dr. Maria Parisi and Dr. Brooke Smith;
Dr. Audrey Smith and Bob Serianni.

Interim Director Appointed

Dr. Janice Scharre, Salus University provost and vice president of Academic Affairs has announced the appointment of Ms. Joy Henderson, MMS, PA-C, as interim director of the Physician Assistant program, effective February 13. Prior to joining the Physician Assistant faculty at Salus in 2013, Ms. Henderson specialized in primary care, geriatric and family practice medicine.

Ms. Henderson succeeds Richard C. Vause, MPAS, PA-C, DHSc, program director since 2009, who returns full-time to the classroom and will teach across the University’s four colleges. A national search for a program director is expected to begin the week of February 16.

We Salute

The University community warmly welcomes its newest members:

  • Mark Boas, OD, Assistant Professor, Optometry
  • Kerri Dougherty, Security
  • Arthur T. Ketchum, Jr., Security

The University community offers sincere congratulations to the following members: 

  • Adam R. Glassick, PA-C '10, who earned a specialty Certificate of Added Qualifications (CAQ) credential from the NCCPA (National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants. Mr. Glassick is one of only 36 currently certified PAs in Florida and approximately 800 certified PAs in the nation. 
  • Fabiana Perla, EdD,  who presented a poster at the Association for Education and Rehabilitation Professionals (AER) conference in Puerto Rico on interprofessional education at Salus earlier this month.